Gösta Dreher

Head of Functional Department – Strategy & Consulting, REWE Group

My Job as Inhouse Consultant:

I am working since November 2016 at REWE and took over an on-going project with 3 consultants and team members from other departments. As a project leader I am steering together with my counterpart from the internal client the overall project and coordinate the subprojects as well as the communication and presentations to our stakeholders. Depending on the project scope we are also working together with well-respected external consultancies.

My daily challenges:

We are developing concepts in close collaboration with different departments at REWE and act as an overarching link between them. Our neutral view, our knowledge pool and network are helping to solve problems. It is a lot of fun developing and implementing concepts and processes with cross-functional teams and actively shaping the future of REWE.

Why I like to work as Inhouse Consultant:

I enjoy working together with creative, highly-motivated and well educated colleagues and clients. Our projects are very diversified, from grocery to DYI and touristic, from national to international as well as from hands-on operational to strategy deployment projects. We present our results regularly to the managing board.

What I like most about being an Inhouse Consultant:

It is exciting to follow the long-term implementation of our projects at REWE and to expand my network. Next to our dynamic team I like the professional training and development possibilities. Compared to my previous jobs my travelling is reduced significantly allowing being with my family regularly.

My life before joining the Inhouse Consultancy:

After a foreign trade apprenticeship in Hamburg I studied business administration at the WHU. Then I worked 5 years for an international consultancy firm focusing on retail and consumer goods. Afterwards I worked for 4 years as an independent consultant traveling across Europe before starting at REWE.

What I like to do in my spare time:

In my free time I love spending time with my family (2 kids) or meet with friends. Furthermore we love to travel and I “suffer” with my home soccer club HSV.